Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

which laptop for mbox2?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by jnightmare, Feb 21, 2006.

1. jnightmare

jnightmare

May 12, 2004
    Carson, CA
    hi there, well im studying in japan for a whole year starting in the fall and i plan on bringing my bass. i also decided i wanted to learn to record and mess around with mixing music and stuff so i decided to get an mbox2 and im of course getting a laptop before i go as well.

question is any laptop recommendations out there? im going to go for a PC based laptop because im more comfortable with that format and im also going to be using the laptop for school purposes and maybe i might even use it for gaming as well.

also i plan on getting an external hard drive since i heard its good to dedicate a hard drive to recording purposes so does anyone know a good portable external hard drive that is very slim and light weight?

2. C-5KO

C-5KO

Mar 9, 2005
    Toronto, Canada
  3. jnightmare

jnightmare

May 12, 2004
    Carson, CA
    thanks. does anyone recommend a good lightweight and portable external hard drive?

4. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    Corrupticut
  5. jnightmare

jnightmare

May 12, 2004
    Carson, CA
    any specific model you've tried or recommend?

6. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    Corrupticut
    I have spec'd out a few T-40's for general use and they have been really reliable. I don't know what the current line looks like, soory. Look for a model with a 7200 rpm built in drive and PCMCIA (PC-CARD) expansion. You can get a good FW400 card pretty cheep.

The PPA drives aren't cheap, but they make a high performance unit that is bus powered so you don't need yet another wall wart.

Good Luck