Who is the orginal Genesis Bass Player?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by SacOnBass, Feb 4, 2005.

1. I listen to Genesis starting at a real young, basically growing up with it. Now that I have some musical knowledge, Ive recently listen to there music again and it's incredicle!! The bass playing and the arrangements of the songs are awesome.

I was wondering who was the bass player orginaly for them and if possible what bass did he play. He gets a wonderful sound out of it?

2. elros

Apr 24, 2004
    Proprietor, Helland Musikk Teknologi
    I do think Mike played the bass for all but ther first release (trespass). That would include all my favourites: Nursery Cryme, Foxtrot, Selling England, The Lamb, and Trick.

BTW: On its way to me are the missing pieces to complete my Genesis collection: Trespass, Wind and Wuthering, and Duke.

EDIT: And Mike often played the Moog Taurus bass pedals, BTW.
  3. hieronymous

Nov 28, 2002
    Northern CA
    I am almost certain that Mike Rutherford played on ALL the Genesis albums. They did have a different drummer in the beginning though. And isn't there an album called From Genesis to Revelation before Trespass?

I feel pretty certain too that he is pictured with a Rickenbacker 4001 on the back of the Live album from the early '70s (the one with "Watcher of the Skies", "Attack of the Giant Hogweed", etc.)...

BTW SacOnBass, which albums are you talking about? There's a bunch...
  4. Jazzbassman23

Apr 20, 2000
    I seem to recall also seeing him with a Rick doubleneck 4/6
  5. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I saw Genesis live in 1973 and a lot of the time he played guitar on double neck and the bass was pedals or keyboard bass....:meh: