1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Why can't I play neck-through basses? w/ Poll

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Treebeard, Mar 10, 2018.

1. I play exclusively.

2. I'll play them / doesn't make a difference.

3. I will not play them.

4. I'd prefer a NT.

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Treebeard

Treebeard

Jun 5, 2016
    Fuquay, NC
    Bear Light Symphony, TimepeaceNC Band
    I've been playing bass for 12 years now, and started on cello 17 years ago. I mention the cello, because that's a set neck, and you wanna talk about tone wood... BUT every neck-through electric bass I've ever picked up has really and I mean REALLY disagreed with me. This is no matter what the headstock or price tag said. I'd appreciate your thoughts and/or anecdotes! Cheers!

Ellery likes this.
  2. JGbassman

JGbassman Supporting Member

May 31, 2011
    I have a few neck through basses, and if anything, they are easier to play because the heel joint is blended with the body, making the transition smoother. Any other time playing (which is most of the time) it just feels like a regular bass neck. The action is a little bit closer on a couple of mine, which is also not a bad thing.

So what is it you don't like about a set neck or neck through compared to a bolt on?

iceboxbass, LowBSix, gebass6 and 9 others like this.
  3. bucephylus

bucephylus Supporting Member Commercial User

Aug 18, 2002
    General Manager TecPadz LLC
    These three agree with me just fine.

70BA661A-A52D-4D7C-B77A-AF96323FDD19. 83661357-558E-4142-8541-103CCADD769E. 70DA613E-0594-4866-B342-45D6EE697928.

I will say that one downside to neck through construction is that repairs can be hairy to impossible, if something goes wrong with the neck.

EddieV, NoBucks, SCOTT_GROVE and 26 others like this.
  4. pickles