Why did you pick bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Oliver, Oct 20, 2005.

1. Oliver

Jun 21, 2003
    Perth, Australia
    I know this topic has been raised a few times but i love reading the responses.
    For me its because bass can change everything about the music, follow melody, be lead, stay at the back, be simple, be complex, its the foundation of music.

We didnt find bass, bass found us....

Please tell me why you play bass over everything else.

2. Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    Uh, I don't know. Way to make the question all touchy feely! :p

I just play because it's fun.
  3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I play bass because I can. I also play guitar and drums for the same reason. I don't play piano because I'm not very good at it.
  4. Err, Isnt there a thread still ging tittled "What made you pick bass??"

5. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    Cuz there are so damn many of them around my apartment.
  6. Funky Doctor

Funky Doctor

Aug 28, 2003
    I was asked to. So I did it as a favour. Now I'm the one who feels the move was in my favour.
  7. Bently

Bently Guest

Jul 3, 2005
    Saltillo, Mississippi
    Because the low notes make me orgasm, and occasionally crap in my pants.
  8. WillBuckingham

Mar 30, 2005
    Mr. Rogers. Anyone rembember the episode where Mr. Speedy-Delivery brings over a video of a tour of a "bass-violin" factory. And then the king or whatever in the land of make-believe has a "bass-violin" festival. I think that was the biggest factor in me wanting to play bass, besides it being the biggest and coolest looking instrument.
  9. cause I like to please the women when they sit on my rig.
  10. Spikeh

Spikeh Sex Strings