Why do great things happen by mistake!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by MonTheNicol, Nov 20, 2015.

1. MonTheNicol

MonTheNicol

Apr 16, 2015
    UK
    Good Afternoon TBer's (Yes, afternoon, salutations from across the pond)

I decided that as much as I like the sound of TI flats, The lack of bite did not suit my taste. I needed the bite a P bass can give.

(I just wish I could have two P bass's, one with flats, one with rounds.)

So I decided after some research with videos I wanted to stick with flats, but decided to get Roto 77's.

Took my TI's off, kept them for any future cravings and stuck on the 77's. Did some setting up, which was impossible due to a defective D string (I am no expert, but this string would not intonate, constantly closer to Db on the 12th fret). And to be honest, the other 3 strings sounded horrible to my ears, but can't give a proper opinion as I didn't give them a chance.

I had some Roto 66's Steels in my drawer, got them for free but have not used due to a past dislike of steel rounds but decided to put them on.

They really do sound amazing, so much clarity and punch. I can't believe I have avoided them in the past.

The point of this thread is to remind players that don't avoid certain strings because you think you will dislike them. You may be surprised.

Only negative thing I have to mention is that I am currently typing this thread with my feet as my fingers have been shredded...

bholder and Linnin like this.
  2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    You may want to try some hybrid strings. Maybe steel core with nickel coated wrap? The way my body chemistry works, steel strings stick to my fingers like crazy! I have been playing rounds for years but steel ones chew right through my fingers.