1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why is it important to have a teacher (period)?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Mr wiggl3s, Mar 24, 2009.

1. Mr wiggl3s

Mr wiggl3s Banned

Feb 27, 2009
    Bismarck
    I mean i'm just starting out, and it would be nice to have someone to play with, other n that, i dont really see why it would be.

Sure i can get some technique wrong, but in doing so, i'm just doing what i think sounds/feels best, right?

All this talk about getting a teacher n **** is really puttin it off for me lol

2. cowsgomoo

cowsgomoo gone to Longstanton Spice Museum

Feb 8, 2003
    UK
    I think having the will to learn is essential... you can get away without having a teacher if you're devouring musical information and ideas from all sources... but having an experienced hand to guide you can save so much time going down wrong paths and correcting you on strange and incorrect ideas you might have had.. you're not often the best judge of what you need to learn

I've always said that you don't need a bass teacher in order to learn basic music theory... if a person doesn't have the common sense to find out (for example) what a major arpeggio is and then work out where to play them all over their bass, by themselves, then they're a lobotomised chimp who has no business wanting to be a musician in the first place... your bass teacher should predominantly be teaching you practical application of music theory, NOT music theory itself

if you're an intelligent, knowledge-hungry information sponge with the critical faculties to determine what's good info & what's BS, then you may not need a bass teacher... if not, then a teacher would maybe help...

3. I don't think it's a necessity, but if you can spare some money for a few lessons it certainly wouldn't hurt.