1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Why is my B string not as loud as other?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by KCooganbass, Mar 8, 2013.

1. KCooganbass

KCooganbass

Mar 8, 2013
    So, I play in a metal band, and I needed the five string for the deeper sound, but my B string is practically inaudibale compared to the other, I've looked through some threads on this, checked a few things, tested the magnetism on the pickups, higher in the B string side, tried raising and lowering the string, truss rod, but nothing seems to be working, my bass is a Stellah Ripwood, and my amp is a Fender Rumble 15, any suggestions are appreciated, and I'm new to bass (sorta) so I apologise if I don't understand something

2. RadioRob

RadioRob

Dec 15, 2012
    Could be the amp. Try it on a different amp. To test pickup remove B string and place old E string or just move E string to the B slot and listen to volume comparison.

3. inmate13

inmate13

Nov 4, 2010
    You play Rumble 15 or 150? If it's 15 you should look for a new amp. B string requiers some additional power to reproduce that freq.

4. KCooganbass

KCooganbass

Mar 8, 2013
    Do you think a rumble 75 would do?

5. bassyogi

bassyogi

Jul 23, 2012
    Sardis Ohio
    You could possibly have a bad B string or it could just be twisted. Try taking the B off, if you haven't already, and reinstall it. If it still sounds bad then a new pack of strings might be in order as well.

6. KCooganbass

KCooganbass

Mar 8, 2013
    I'll give it a go :)

7. punkjazzben

punkjazzben

Jun 26, 2008
    Australia
    It might only just do, but if you can move up a bit more you'll have an amp that you can keep using as you progress.