Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by mxr255, Oct 31, 2003.

1. mxr255

mxr255 Supporting Member

Jul 21, 2003
    Williamsport, PA
    I have been playing bass for 15 years. I am almost finished with a degree in music with double bass as my main instrument and I do not understand the Kay passion.

I have played on many Kays and they have skinny necks and feel nice for Jazz, but the sound is nothing compared to Carved instrument or the Hybrid (carved top) basses that companies like Shen is kicking out of China?

I have heard guys say that it has that "tone". Well what is that? I play tons of Jazz and my Wilfer carved bass and it does a GREAT job. I would understand it people were getting then for 500 bucks, but most guys I see are paying between $1,000 and 2,000. I saw a guy pay over a 1,000 bucks for one and then put over $600 into it to get it set up properly and then there he was with a bass that played nice, but still had a laminate sound.

IF someone could descride this Kay tone I would really LOVE to hear it. Thanks guys!

I am not trying to sound like an ass I just do not get it!
  2. Alexi David

Alexi David

May 15, 2003
    What's to get? What is good tone for one person is not good tone for the other. I learned on my Dad's Kay. It didn't have a lot of punch or definition, but it was very rugged (laminate), nice loud sound, fantastic for pizz. No, it doesn't work in an orchestra, but then again, I don't think our Kay fans are symphony players.

Also, just because one has a carved instrument, doesn't mean it will sound better. I've heard some Kays, properly setup, that beat the crap out of a low-level/badly setup carved bass.

Many great bassists used them, such as Slam Stewart, Paul Chambers, Chubby Jackson, Aaron Bell - the list goes on. For a beggining Jazz/Bluegrass player, they're simply wonderful. That of course, is just my opinion.
  3. mxr255

mxr255 Supporting Member

Jul 21, 2003
    Williamsport, PA