Wilson K1 vs. Yamahiko single sensor

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Barcza, Jul 5, 2019.

1. Barcza

Barcza

May 1, 2005
    Budapest
    I started to search a new pickup for my „loud“ band...
    I narrowed my interest to this interesting two product....
    Both are not so widely used, but both are seems very quality product.
    Many of players says, the K1 has low output, but the Yamahiko has very hot output, what can easily distort amps input...
    A have many different kind of gigs, play different band, different rental amps, doubling etc.
    I’m afraid of dealing with complicated gain staging!

Have you got experience of both pickups or one of them?

2. I doubt you can find people that used both (on the same bass and bridge) because the holes for each pickup would interfere.
    So either different bridges/basses or only one of the two pickups.

3. Kristian

Kristian

Dec 5, 2008
    Turkey
    I've been using the Wilson k1 for many years but just recently switched to underwood since it gives a "cleaner" sound. Wilson can be great but often gets a bit "boxy". If I had the money, I would try the yamahiko. Seems like everyone likes that one.
    I mainly use a mic and mixes in a little piezo if needed so a to clean piezo is not an issue for me.

4. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    I voted K1 because I have one but never tried the Yamahiko.
    As I said in your other thread, I don't use it at the moment.
    I use an Underwood (only one element) and will try to add a mic in the next weeks. (A-T Pro 37)

Barcza likes this.
  5. Barcza

Barcza

May 1, 2005
    Budapest
    Did You find the output low of the K1 compared to Underwood?

6. Francois Blais

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    The output of the K1 is very hot on my bass.
    I'd need to do a A/B compare to give you a real answer though.
    I'll try it in the next days and let you know...

Barcza likes this.
  7. Barcza