Wilson Pickup

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by dperrott, Nov 8, 2005.

1. dperrott

Oct 3, 2005
    Is anyone still using a Wilson Pickup? I have looked at the old post but many of them are exactly that..old. I have been using Schertler stat-b since 1996. I used to use the old 2 element model. It wasn't working well. (I recently put new corks on it but is sounds even worse.) I am not totally pleased with the new one. I have been using it for about 2 years. I have been debating about the Barbera or Wilson. I know the Barbera sounds great but I worried about not being able to modify the bridge. My favorite player Anders Jormin uses the Wilson. I just heard him play and his sound was ok. Other pickups like the realist sound too dark and thumpy for me or don't work for arco playing.

2. Uncletoad

May 6, 2003
    Columbus Ohio
    Proprietor Fifth Avenue Fret Shop. Technical Editor Bass Gear Magazine
    I used a Wilson on my old German Plywood for a bit. It was a bit thin and open sounding for my tastes at the time. It is accurate and clear. Easy to play on the louder side without problems. I went with the Full Circle by itself though. Of course that may just err on the other side of being pretty bassy and electric bassish. My bass teacher still uses a Wilson mixed with a mic that sounds amazing together. Mine is sitting in a drawer these days. I use the Full Circle and the AMT on my Cleveland.
  3. oystein

Sep 15, 2001
    Norway, Leikong
    I sold my wilson 2 years ago, when I got the Full Circle there was no point in keeping the Wilson. The Wilson's pros are: feedback resistant, clear and even sounding in the whole register. Cons: Electric sounding, it doesn't bring out much "wood and air" of the instrument. I always felt like playing a big fretless when using it. Combined with a mike you can get a pretty decent sound, I have also heard bassist getting a far better sound with the Wilson than I did.