Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

With equal wattage, which amps are the loudest?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by murpbrad, Dec 9, 2004.

1. murpbrad

murpbrad

Dec 1, 2004
    Abilene, TX
    with all things equal (wattage, ohms, speaker configuration, guitar, etc.), what amps are the loudest? i've heard that tube amps are much louder than solid state with the same watts, but i've only played solid state so i have no personal experience with that. i've also heard people say that certain brand's watts are more powerful than other brands. for example, i've heard someone say that eden's 300 watts is just as loud as G-K's 500 or so watts. i'm really looking for either all solid state or hybrid. tube's are just too much of a hassle for me. also, which speaker config (210/115, 210/212, etc) will be best to give the most volume?

2. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Sad to say there is no answer.

As far as wattage there are two main issues, one is how honest the power ratings are and the other is how much dynamic headroom (i.e. extra power available for short bursts) there is.

With speakers there are way too many factors involved to allow calling one "the loudest".

So why do people say stuff like "English watts are louder" or "tube watts are louder"? Because they go off and use two amps rated at the same wattage and one seems much louder. There could be many reasons for this totally unrelated to wattage or the speakers used!

1. Compression

Compression raises the average volume level without requiring any more power (you read it here first: the cheapest and simplest way to make your amp sound louder is to run your bass through a compressor). The more compressed the louder the amp will sound. The tradeoff is you lose dynamic range.

2. Harmonic distortion