1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

wma files are kicking my butt!

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by neptoon, Jun 22, 2007.

1. neptoon

neptoon Supporting Member

Jul 25, 2000
    Vero Beach, FL
    here's the deal...i'm trying to import guitar and drums into my sequencer ( i think it's called? sonar 3 PE, cubase LE and adobe audition - i can't import into any of these guys)...the files are in .wma format and i can't import any of this stuff as track #1 so that i can play along with it and record bass tracks...umm, help?

:help: :help: :help:

2. pdusen

pdusen

Aug 18, 2004
    Audition has complete WMA support; there's no reason you shouldn't be able to import it...

3. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    Sonar 3 has .wma support, as well, so I'm not sure what to tell you...what exactly are you clicking on, with Sonar, it should just be a matter of File-> Import Audio-> and then use the browse button to select the file.

Is it possible that somehow the .wma's bitrate isn't supported by the sound interface you're trying to use? As well, if you're trying to import audio into a Sonar project that is set at, say 20 bits, and the audio is 16 bit, it can get fussy. Check your audio settings.

Unfortunately, I've never actually come across this problem, and I'm not familiar enough with Audition or Cubase to advise. You shouldn't be having a problem doing this, though.

4. neptoon

Jul 25, 2000
    Vero Beach, FL