YIKES! jazz audition for me tonight....help!!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by catphish, Aug 5, 2004.

1. catphish

Feb 25, 2003
    Okay…so the meeting tonight is actually a rehearsal. So I need to run back to the studio, and get my gear, then haul ass to the Funky Buddha lounge for an audition. YIKES! I’m pretty nervous. I have zero experience in a jazz band situation on bass (though I played Trombone in jazz bands for year), and my site reading on bass is woefully inadequate. I thought they were going to give me the music ahead of time so I could learn it. I’m debating asking to just come get the music but not play tonight.

Any thoughts? Any tips on site reading a jazz chart? I’m debating using the fretless tonight, but I’m not quite as comfortable with it as my fretted. What have I gotten myself into?!?!
  2. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    In over your head? Possibly, but you can make the best of it. Take an instrument your comfortable on - if that's a fretted bass, then go for it (although if it's a pointy BC Rich, gore spattered creation, you'd better hope the rest of the cats play with their eyes closed).

For each song you put in front of you, take a couple of seconds to pick out important points. For example, what's the key signature, does it change, and are there any passages with a significant number of accidentals? What's the time signature, and does that change as well? How many different rhythms are involved? A lot of jazz tunes involve some kind of 4/4 walking line, maybe with a few twists thrown in; even a jazz fusion number with some scary looking rhythms may turn out to consist of only two or three main "rhythmic riffs" with minor variations.