1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A second Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassAt33, Feb 14, 2016.

1. BassAt33

BassAt33

Nov 29, 2015
    Pittsburgh
    I have a question regarding getting a second Bass when I can. I just started playing and have a Squier Jaguar Troy Sanders Sig model. I love playing and want to get another Bass to use different string type, different pickup(s) and different materials (I want a Maple fretboard on Bass 2) so I'm looking at the Sterling SUB Ray4. So the question is whether it's worth it or not? I don't have much of a budget to move up to like a Fender or a MM. But is buying multiple $300 basses a waste of money? I certainly have no problems withy Squier I think it's great and could love the SUB just as much potentially. Just Wondering what TB thinks since I've got so much solid advice on here so far.

Throw in a picture of what I currently have and what I want...just for fun

Want!! (Top) Have (Bottom) H82042005004069-00-750x750. 20160210_200257.

meatwad likes this.
  2. 5544

Dec 1, 2015
    1 right bass is better than 100 wrong basses.

3. BassAt33

BassAt33

Nov 29, 2015
    Pittsburgh
    Also if anyone with a Sub Ray4 sees this I'd appreciate hearing how you like or dislike it.

bobba66 likes this.
  4. BassAt33

BassAt33

Nov 29, 2015
    Pittsburgh
    I can appreciate that.

Kukulkan61 likes this.
  5. RattleSnack

RattleSnack Supporting Member

Sep 22, 2011
    Europe
    I had a Ray4 last year and traded it later.
    I played it at 5-6 small gigs and one bigger (2.000 people).
    It is a good, reliable instrument with two downsides: pickup and preamp. Pickup sounds ok, but is too hot and needs to be set very low in order to get healthier signal. Preamp works ok, but has questionable EQ points (treble is more of midrange).