1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Accomplished bass players that use floating thumb?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by JacoLifeson, Oct 17, 2020.

1. JacoLifeson

JacoLifeson

Jan 9, 2020
    Hello,

I’ve been using the floating thumb technique for about 7 months now, but I’m starting to have doubts on it’s actual value. Of the bass players I admire, (Jaco, Victor Wooten, Joe dart, Geddy Lee, Jack Bruce, Michael Manring) none of them seem to use floating thumb. Even though I understand the theory behind it and it’s ergonomic benefits, I’m starting to doubt if it’s worth pursuing.

Here are my issues with it: even though my thumb rests on the string, sometimes harmonics are still ringing out. Since the biggest benefit of floating thumb seems to be the ergonomics and muting, I’m concerned that the right hand muting doesn’t seem as effective as my thumb being firmly planted on the string. Furthermore, transitioning between playing the E string with my thumb on the pickup and the ADG strings is uncomfortable. I also find that for maximum benefit, you’re expected to play with a very light attack. I find that most of the players I admire play with a hard attack which is harder to get without planting your thumb.

what do you guys think, should I transition to a moveable anchor using the pickup and e string and fingers for the rest?

Edit: another thing I forgot. I feel like when I use floating thumb, it’s more difficult to get an attack that’s parallel to the string. Instead, I strike into the string which results in a ton of fret noise.

2. Lobster11

Lobster11 Supporting Member Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2006
    Williamsburg, VA
    Interesting and thoughtful post.