1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice for a Player Please

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by herndonbassist, Mar 18, 2009.

1. herndonbassist

herndonbassist Low Down Thumper Supporting Member

Apr 7, 2005
    Herndon, VA - NoVa
    I know that soliciting advice on an Internet forum is like asking for a hailstorm of fury, but alas, I'm a glutton for punishment so I'll give it a go. For background, as can be seen in my profile, I have been playing electric bass consistently for about 19 years now. I am very serious about the playability of my instruments, and own some very nice player quality instruments that go out with me to many club/bar dates. I do all of my own setup on those instruments, and have built quite a few instruments (doing more than just assembly), speaker cabinets and various other non-musical woodworking projects. I do NOT consider myself to be a luthier, nor claim to be an expert in ANY of this, just wanted to point out what I might be capable of doing.

I've been mulling this over in my head for about a year now, and just can't make up my mind. I have also read through all of the newbie links, and am still faced with my quandry.

I have on permanent loan from a very good friend of mine a G A Pfretzschner 3/4 bass. I would assume that this is a plywood bass, but haven't done too much to inspect it. When it was lent to me, I was informed by the owner (who used it in college with a symphony that he played in) that it would need new strings, a new bridge, and a new endpin.

I have now been playing this bass for about a year (Bluegrass, Folk and Americana) and have learned enough to know that he was right in his assessment.