1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advise on new PF500

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bass7858, Sep 28, 2013.

1. bass7858

bass7858

Apr 11, 2009
    central florida
    So I been carryin around a Peavey XXXX mega bass or something like that for a few years. It has weird parametric eq system that has a bass knob, treble knob, and then 3 different parametric sweepable mid bands. I hate it!!.
    Give me some plane jane controls I don't need an acoustic engineers degree to operate!!

So I decide today to do something I have never done before. had a gig tonight and decided to go to the local GC and see what they had in micro amp. only things they had was markbass 250 and a tube 800, lastly .. a PF 500.
    Did'nt think 250 watts was enough over the long haul, had read some not so happy comments on the LM tube 800. decided to give the PF 500 a run for its money. ( or rather mine)

As mentioned b4 had a gig tonight. Kind of Hoity Toity silent auction benefit type deal. 1st set was played kind of low. The cab i'm plugged into is a Schroeder 2X12, and I got the bass on the PF500 set between 2 and 3. (clock face)
    The second set we open up a little but. Last song he set is skynards "I know a Little bout it"

Get to the guitar ride and i'm layin into it, and right when we get to the the part in the guitar solo where it changes to the 4 chord all of sudden...no bass!!!! Wha....
    band finishes the short version of the song while i'm at the amp flippin the breaker. still nothing.
    so we do a re-boot ( off then back on) good to go!!
    Is this known issue with the porta flex? A freak happening?
    i'm thinking about about going back to GC tomorrow and excercising my 30 satisfaction guarantee.

I did forget to mention although it was sold as brand new...it was the showroom demo. no box and no manual.
    What say the brethren?

2. Thundar