Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg B100r

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MarkyMark, Feb 4, 2006.

1. MarkyMark

MarkyMark

Dec 11, 2005
    I got one of these beasts last year and I absolutely love it but the only thing I don't like is that the sound at medium to low volumes isn't beautiful. It only sounds deep and niiiiiiice when I crank it which I can rarely do seeing as it is 100 watts of tube.

Is this a common problem with tube amps (sorry but I am fairly new to this whole thing)?

2. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    Whoever told you the B-100R is tube ripped you off. It's 100% solid state.

3. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.

Jan 7, 2004
    Shreveport LA
    Just what I was about to say. Surprisingly warm tone for a SS amp though. I definitely want to get the 200 watt version they just came out with.

4. Edwcdc

Edwcdc I call shotgun!

Jul 21, 2003
    Columbia MD USA
    The B15R is the flip top 100 watt combo tube amp.

5. MarkyMark

MarkyMark

Dec 11, 2005
    ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh realllllllllllllly

wow... that is really interesting. Boy, I really learned something today.

well, it's freakin' loud for solid state then. Darn, I thought it was all tube:meh: :crying:

oh well, I really like the sound when it cranked.

Like I said, I'm really new to the bass scene (been playing seriously for a little over a year now).

6. Mcrelly

Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    ALOT and I mean ALOT of beginning players would love to have an amp THAT GOOD right out of the shoot.

Do yourself a favor and hang on to it even if/when you upgrade to something louder, bigger etc...