1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Any good "how-to" bass DVD's?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by stoop, Jan 15, 2012.

1. stoop

stoop

Jan 11, 2012
    Hey I just picked up a bass today (fender squire P bass), I had been learning on a friends but he took it home not too long again. Anyhow, I was wondering if anyone knows any good dvd's to start learning more. I am pretty new to it all but I have been shown some stuff and been jamming with a friend who is playing guitar and another on drums. Or if you just have some tips and tricks you did to start playing feel free to drop that knowledge here to.

Thanks.

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Not sure about DVD's but I can recommend some books which come with their own play along CD's. The first is "Bass Guitar for Dummies". It may be available at your local library. Dont mind the "D" word. It is a great over all book for someone just starting out. When you have got through that, I would recommend this :

Bass Method: Book 1 Ed Friedland | eBay

There are three volumes. It is possible to get all three in one spiral bound edition at a very reasonable price.

3. Jay2U

Jay2U Not as bad as he lóòks

Dec 7, 2010
    22 ft below sea level
    Books and well made courses (some good ones on YouTube) are always welcome. It all depends on what you want. I discovered that some straight forward blues is helpful. At least it was to me. By just listening to it and trying to find the right string and fret, I could play along and improve. Nowadays I do the same with metal. I just mix the bass in and play along until I get 'it'. On sites like Songsterr there is a lot of tab material available. This is also helpful.