1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Any Recommended High Quality Double Bass Brands? Beginner Questions!

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Jean Grace, May 16, 2018.

1. Jean Grace

Jean Grace

Jan 18, 2018
    Hi. I am new to this site, so I'm not sure if this is the correct forum part to post this on.
    I have been playing the piano for the last seven years and the violin for the last five, so I have a musical background. I am interested in learning the double bass.
    I know that for beginners, beginner-quality instruments are recommended. However, I'm pretty sure I'll enjoy the double bass if and when I begin to learn it, so I'd rather have an intermediate-quality instrument. Are there any specific brands/models that you'd recommend?
    What about some beginner books you've enjoyed?
    I'll probably be self-taught (using books and videos, of course, and probably asking troubleshootig problems here) because I'm pretty sure the nearest double bassist is at least two hours away, let alone an experienced teacher. Do you have any tips as far as specific technique, or tips about anything, really?
    Oh, by the way, I'd be learning mostly classical, not jazz or any other genre. I may venture into those, but for now I'm quite sure I'll be going the classical route. I know genre affects technique for the violin (the violin/fiddle battle), so I just mentioned that in case it's similar for the double/upright bass.
    Also, I'm not 'switching' instruments. I'm still keeping to my passions for the piano and violin! I'd just like to learn a new instrument in addition to those.
    I'm still doing lots of research, and will be until I make a decision.
    Thanks in advance!

2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC