1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anybody ever do this and if not, why not?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Sep 17, 2010.

1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses
    I just ordered a GKMB210 and plan on adding an 115MBE in the near future. Got me thinkin...

If I get a long speaker cable I can put the 15 on one side of the stage and the 210 on the other, instead of stacking them. I'm no newbie here, but never gigged my own seperate bottoms, (NV 610 or combos has been it for me) and never really gave this any thought.

Why don't people do this at smaller bar gigs where they're not going through the PA? Me thinks it would fill out the band and sound awesome. Me thinks too that since nobody does it there must be a good reason, except for maybe that nobody ever tries because it doesn's ever seem to be done. ??????? Hmmm... Joe Nerve wonders, and will probably experiment unless you convince me otherwise. Yeah, I realize it'll probably upset the guitar guys a bit, but who cares. :)

2. Adam Bomb

Adam Bomb

Mar 26, 2008
    Bezerkely, CA
    Hey. IIRC, "they" say that the soundwaves will crash into each other in the middle and cancel each other out and you will become invisible. Something like that. Don't know why. And don't know why guitarists don't care about this phenom; they all seem to want to rock stereo rigs. My last pedal is in stereo, going into a pair of MB210s, but what does that matter when they are stacked? I may try this too. At least at a rehearsal.

If it turns you invisible, please post vid clips. Thanks.

--Bomb :bassist:

Rickter, Fat Freddy and BrentSimons like this.
  3. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups