1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anyone ever get discouraged?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Waspinators, Aug 15, 2007.

1. Waspinators

Waspinators

Jul 22, 2007
    South Florida
    Well, my friend who's been playing guitar for 5 years and can play bass pretty much told me I suck at bass really bad. Before that I told him that I finally got a certain bassline down and I don't know, I guess it felt good that I finally got it down, but he replies with "Who the hell cares? I can play that with my hands tied behind my back, don't feel special, you suck at bass."

So I'm feeling kinda bad about playing bass right now, kind of discouraged. Anyone else ever feel like this?

I've been playing for about 4 months and playing with the intention of becoming good for about 1 or 2, by the way.

2. the trick is to not listen to him and just move at your own pace.

3. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    He doesn't sound like a very good friend to me....:meh:

4. sWilshireCourt

sWilshireCourt

Aug 15, 2007
    Hey... the glory of the bass to me is the fact that I can play through my emotions. Don't even consider giving up... because the bass wants you to play it... it's like it has its own pulse... just play for self satisfaction and nothing more... you may surprise yourself!!

5. billjr

billjr

Jul 25, 2006
    Darlington, SC
    I can think of a lot of things to call that guy, but "friend" is not one of them.

6. Waspinators

Waspinators

Jul 22, 2007
    South Florida
    Yeah he's the kind of guy that doesn't hold back. Incidentally, I bought my bass from him...

7. Baryonyx

Baryonyx Banned

Jul 11, 2005
    Marathon Man
    Indeed, boot this guy while you play "Bones" by The Killers on your bass.

8. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ