1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

ashdown ABM evo500 with 2x12 little bastard cab?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by shednz, Oct 12, 2013.

1. shednz

shednz

May 27, 2013
    Hi all am a guitarist now also playing bass in a blues band (old school little walter, bb king, muddy, sonny boy williamson etc).

I have seen some reasonable prices on ashdown gear over here in NZ and am thinking about matching an ABM 500 evoIII with a 2 x12 lil bastard cab. Really I am a complete newbie when it comes to bass gear so am encouraging your thoughts. I know the lil bastard cabs are designed to go with the little bastard head but at only 30 watts and mucho more $$ than the ABM I'm thinking that tube head won't have enough volume.

Cheers for your thoughts!

2. What have you got for PA?

For reference, I had a 50w Jansen Bassman, not enough clean power to keep up, full noise PA, maybe with a better monitor set for the rest of the band it could possibly have worked out.

500w head into LB cab, not a good recipe from getgo, but you could make it work in a full on PA situation.

3. shednz

shednz

May 27, 2013
    hey - thanks downunderwonder. Yeah i was wondering about a 500 watt amp with the lil bastard 2 x 12 cab. the cab is rated at 300w - I thought the general rule was amp should have more watts than the cabinet? Anyone else help me out here? Thanks

4. Hans Gruber

Hans Gruber Supporting Member

Jun 18, 2003
    Los Angeles
    Not too familiar with the lil bastard, but really the rating isn't that important as one may think. If it's 300 at 8 ohms, you're just fine. Even if it's not, you're not really cranking the entire 500 watts from the evo. The EVO is an excellent head, btw.

5. shednz

shednz

May 27, 2013