Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Audition/demo tape advice??

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Steve Clark, Aug 29, 2004.

1. Steve Clark

Steve Clark Supporting Member

Jan 9, 2004
    London ON
    Hi everyone,

I got a call this morning for an interesting opportunity. Long story short over the summer I met a guitar player who does a lot of 'hired gun' road work. He likes my playing. I think he overdoes the praise a bit but back to the story. I told him I was interested in some road work. I started playing music as a teen and am getting back into it after a lay off of many years.

He went back on the road after some local stuff didnt work out. He called today asking if I was interested in auditioning for what sounds to be a fairly serious project based in Missouri. If I got the gig it would be three weeks of rehearsals and then off to the studio and who knows what happens afer that. Of course chances are nothing will happen but I would certainly like to give it my best shot. My wife is supportive and someone can easily run my company while I am away. Heck maybe someday I can sell the company and do music full time but at 38 years old my chances might be limited.

The first step is to put together a sample of my playing. I was already looking at some recording USB interface stuff last week so I will buy recording. What would you put on the demo. It would be me playing bass by myself. I thought I should showcase different feels and so on. Maybe do some stuff with my playing blues walk on one track and soloing over the top on the other, some funk stuff, some straight ahead rock.

What would you do on the demo?
    How long would the parts be?
    How many clips should I put on?
    I don't plan to record a drum machine with me but should I? I thought it might be better to show that I can groove and have solid time on my own?