1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass Compressor, Which One?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by BassBeginer64, Sep 6, 2018.

1. BassBeginer64

BassBeginer64 Supporting Member

Aug 6, 2018
    Riverside Ca
    I am torn between a few, I am just a beginner and getting better, I am mainly just playing at home and just looking for a very good compressor *Help me sound better in front of the wife* they all have great reviews, the list as follows - yeah I know they are not cheap, looking for quality and functionality :
    MXR-M87WHT (M76BLK)
    BASS COMPRESSOR
    STUDIO COMPRESSOR

Keeley Bassist Compressor
    Bassist Compressor - Robert Keeley

Diamond BCP-1 Bass Compressor
    Diamond Pedals | BCP1 BASS COMP

Diamond BCP-1 JR Bass Compressor
    Diamond Pedals | BASS COMP Jr

Empress Bass Compressor
    Compressor

Blad51 likes this.
  2. BassBeginer64

Aug 6, 2018
    Riverside Ca
    I am leaning towards the MXR-M87WHT (M76BLK) due to T/B chat and reviews, plus its size and bells and whistles.

Quantized Harmonic and 4dog like this.
  3. lowplaces

lowplaces Got Punch ? Supporting Member

Dec 20, 2015
    Louisville Kentucky
    The Keeley does it for me. Gigged with it for the first time tonight. Very pleased with it. So easy to dial in.

The only other two compressors I've owned are the Barber Tone Press and the DOD Milkbox.

Those were decent but the Bassist ended the hunt.

4. GMC

GMC

Jan 1, 2006
    Walmer
    They are all good, they just have slightly different personalities. There aren't any bad choices in your list.

Kokoman, lowplaces and Zbysek like this.
  5. BassBeginer64

Aug 6, 2018
    Riverside Ca