1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass Lessons for the Experienced?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by RickyWoo, Jul 14, 2016.

1. RickyWoo

RickyWoo

May 26, 2016
    I wasn't really sure where to post this, though another thread got me thinking about this...

Here's my deal.... I've been playing bass for 20 years and guitar for 25. I've smothered myself in many musical genres and playing styles. I learned all on my own. Never took a lesson. Never learned to read. I've played by ear my entire "playing life". The problem is, I'm not bad and I (hate to sound cocky) don't have anyone to turn to locally, aside from learning theory. I'm wondering where do I (did you) begin when you finally decided you actually wanted to learn to play, in the truest sense of the word? I can learn to read online at a very slow rate, but I need more than that.... I need to understand better and know music more. I've got a great grasp on my instrument, but I want to learn to be able to mix playing by the rules and putting my own flavors in there, and to be able to know the difference. Can any seasoned players guide me in the right direction? Am I over thinking this?

Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
  2. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    There are plenty of seasoned professionals who give Skype lessons. Jeff Berlin, Ed Friedland, Anthony Wellington and Janek Gwizdala are just a few. I'm sure any of them could teach you a thing or 2.

remcult, okcrum, JimmyM and 2 others like this.
  3. RickyWoo

RickyWoo

May 26, 2016
    Thanks for your reply. How does that work? Do I email them an inquiry?

4. GnarwhalNick

GnarwhalNick

Jan 18, 2011