Bass overdrive pedal

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Masslymo, May 19, 2020.

1. Masslymo

Masslymo

Aug 10, 2018
    Hey.
    I am new to bass (i am a guitar player) and want to build small and affordable bass pedalboard. I have cheap bass and amp (Ltd b10 and fender rumble 40).
    I want to buy an overdrive/distortion pedal and can you suggest any affordable pedals?
    I searched the internet and find Digitech XBD review and then went to Youtube for sound quality. It sounds ok for me. I just want to play and have fun at home.

Digitech XBD Bass Driver Overdrive/Distortion Pedal Review (2020)

Ellery likes this.
  2. GMC

GMC Supporting Member

Jan 1, 2006
    Wiltshire, UK
    There's lots to choose from, most work great on guitar as well as bass. However, not many guitar overdrives work well on bass. The role of overdrive on bass is very different to guitar. Where you might be into solo-ing on a guitar, on bass they are usually used to fatten and compress the bass in a mix. So something that doesn't cut the low end and has a tone control to dial down the top end. Muffs and very popular on bass (also used a lot for bass solo tones) and Rats are good if you are careful about the low end cut.
    A few great cheapies are the Joyo Ultimate Drive (OCD fuzz clone) their American Sound is glorious (but has a baked in tone). The TCelectronics Mojo Mojo gets a lot of love (Bass and Treble boost / cut) or the Digitec Bad Monkey.
    If you have the time / money / effort / skills..I would seriously recommend a DAM Ezekiel Kit. It's a one stop shop to analogue bass dirt. Pretty much everything you will ever need in a single box for bass dirts, as long as you spend the time to lean how to dial in each sound. It has a blend, bass and treble cut knobs, plus 4 clipping options. The Drive is very touch sensitive, although hard to dial in lighter tones...they are there and are excellent. But it's primarily a fuzz pedal that wants to let rip the dogs of war.

3. Masslymo