1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass playing for guitarists - tips & pitfalls?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by earlofmar11, Jan 25, 2012.

1. Hello, I'm new to this forum. I have been playing the guitar for more than 30 years (classical, steel string, electric). I've been interested by the bass for a long time. Recently I decided I wanted to try my hand at bass guitar myself, to be able to add non-keyboard bass lines to some home recording I'd like to do.

Coming from a guitar background, I ended up with a short scale bass (a lovely candy apple red Squier VM Jaguar SS), because the feel was closer to a guitar than with the full scale models I tried. I also bought a Vox Amplug Bass for home practice and have been playing along with backing tracks, songs on my iPod and DVDs to get used to the new instrument, using either the Amplug or the Roland Mobile Cube I already had.

Being fairly proficient at the guitar, I don't really have too much technical issues with the bass. But I've come to realise very quickly that, although the technique may be quite similar, the approach and mindset for playing bass is very different from playing the guitar!

So my question, especially to the multi-instrumentalists among you: can you share hints & tips, recommendations, pitfalls to avoid or typical guitarist "errors" that can help me play the bass in an idiomatic way that doesn't scream "guitar player"?

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2006
    G.R. MI
    It's not about how many notes you can fit in, it's about how the notes fit.

The obvious guitar player turned bass players seem to be quite busy. Lock in with the drummer, close your eyes, and groove!

Welcome to the low end!