Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cabs with high range.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sound Chaser, Mar 8, 2006.

1. Sound Chaser

Sound Chaser

Mar 19, 2005
    Lockport, NY
    What's a good cab for amplifying the high strings of a Warr Guitar or Chapman Stick, or an ERB? I've been looking around, but it's not something most manufacturers advertise.

Thank you for the help.

EDIT: I don't mean high frequency, I mean a large range. I've heard the term "full range" before.

2. I'm no expert on those instruments, but since you aren't getting many responses, I'll put in my 2 cents.

I think what you probably are looking for is a full range cabinet without a typical bass cabinet tweeter. While I love the sound of a tweeter with a bass guitar, they can sound very harsh in the guitar tonal range, especially if you use a little distortion.

So, to me, that describes full range cabs with those 'soft dome' type tweeters that are a little more natural sounding and would probably sound great all the way up into 'guitar' range.... Acme and Accugroove are the two companies that come to mind.... very wide range from low to high with a 'natural sounding' treble response.

That's just a guess though!

3. Sound Chaser

Sound Chaser

Mar 19, 2005
    Lockport, NY
    Thanks, I'll check those out.

4. Cool. I prefer the Accugrooves for that sound, since they are more efficient... more sound per watt, but the AcmeB210 is nice and small and reasonably priced... just takes a lot of watts to sound good.

If you don't need a ton of volume, the Accugroove Tri112 is very 'natural' sounding, and is light. The Whappo Jr. would be great IMO if you needed more volume.