1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Can a brothah get a MM Stingray 6 string?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by aasti3000, Aug 9, 2012.

1. aasti3000

aasti3000

Jul 18, 2012
    I know I'm a newbie bass player, but does anyone know if there is a reason why Musicaman only makes 6 strings in the bongo (not a fan of the body design) and not for the sterling or stingray? I have a 5 string and looking to get a 6 string after testing a few out. I plan on buying this Steve Bailey 6 string but just wanted to know why is there no Stingray 6 sting?

2. phillybass101

phillybass101

Jan 12, 2011
    Artist, Trickfish Amplification Bartolini Emerging Artist, MTD Kingston Emerging Artist. Artist, Tsunami Cables
    I hear you on the body design of the bongo but they IMO kick major booty otherwise. In considering a bongo I would make a concession and choose substance over form.

3. aasti3000

aasti3000

Jul 18, 2012
    phillybass101 - I guess you're right. But I just can't take the look of the body but in all honesty you make a point. I never even picked it up to try it out. I just see the body and say "....ewwwwwww!" I guess I'll try one out. But the question still stand....why does Musicman only make 6 strings for the bongo? I bet a 6 string Sterling or Stringray would fly off the racks at music stores....well....my opinion that is.

gebass6 likes this.
  4. Tunaman

Tunaman

Dec 26, 2004
    Boston
    oh no, not this again!
    Wont ever happen, it took twisting of the arm to get a Bongo 6, thats what you got!

5. phillybass101

phillybass101

Jan 12, 2011
    Artist, Trickfish Amplification Bartolini Emerging Artist, MTD Kingston Emerging Artist. Artist, Tsunami Cables