1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Classic Reggae/Dub!!!

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by jpark369, Feb 28, 2008.

1. anybody, help me on my hunt for some classic reggae bass lines! these are all bumpin, fat reggae/dub basslines that are sure to get everybody movin!
    looking for:

sister nancy- bam bam
    Ini kamoze- here comes the hotstepper
    chaka demus & pilers- murder she wrote
    tenor saw- ring the alarm
    lee "scratch" perry & the upsetters- popcorn

help me rudeboys!

2. El Bajo

El Bajo

Apr 12, 2006
    UK
    Sublime!!!

3. c'mon rudeboys!!

4. DubHunter

DubHunter

Feb 15, 2008
    Columbia Gorge
  5. ill check it out, thanks.
    anybody out there rock these joints?? feel like finding em out for me? please!!

6. Holy crap!! Do you know the tabs to King Tubby's Augustus Pablo meets Rockers Uptown? I'm a beginner, but I'd love to be able to play that, and no I can't figure it out myself I am too new. Dub is one of the big reasons I decided on the bass- it's such a great showcase for that sound.

7. bump city

8. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

I think the point is that in most Reggae (Dub) bass lines - the actual notes are fairly simple - usually root fifth!

But what gives them their character and distinctive feel is the rhythmic syncopation - which just cannot be shown by TAB...:meh:

So even if you found TAB it wouldn't help!

9. bass_fish

bass_fish

Oct 26, 2006
    the Netherlands
    +1

right now I'm figuring out rat in my kitchen by UB-40(the whole album) not difficult to play at all, the notes at least, you just need to get your timing right, that's the hardest part with most of the reggea/dub styles...
    tabs are no help at all... but it's good training!

10. jomahu

jomahu

Dec 15, 2004
    Bos, MA