Confusion over compression

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Black 'n Tan, Apr 8, 2005.

1. I have done some searching but I would like somebody to just simply explain why compression is so darn important. I'm just getting started (but I'm older and have saved up some money) so I snagged a really good deal on an Aguilar DB750. Should I get a good rack-mount compressor for it? Why?

p.s. my goal is to eventually play some hard rock/nu-metal stuff as well as eventually acid jazz on this rig (axe is a Spector Euro5).

2. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    Basically what compression does is smooth out the difference between the lowest volume notes and the highest volume ones. This makes your overall signal sound more precise and even, as well as gives a boost in sustain. While you don't "need" it many bassists consider it a must have effect.

You might want to get a good compression pedal first and expiriment with it. You might find that you don't like what it does to your sound (though for numetal I'm betting you'll end up using at least some compression). Pedals tend to be much cheaper than rackmount gear and there are some very nice compression pedals out there.
  3. I'd consider it a must-have for studio use, but not for live use. Of course I do still have a compressor in my live rig, but I don't find it to be incredibly necessary.

Another benefit of having one in a live rig, besides the smoothing out of the peaks, is you can usually attain a louder average volume from your amp than you'd be able to without the compression. Your peaks aren't as high, so you can turn up a bit louder before clipping on the hard notes.
  4. Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK

5. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    That's the coolest description of compression I've ever heard :)
  6. Tedintheshed

Tedintheshed Banned

Oct 8, 2004
    Columbus, Ohio
    Compression has 3 basic uses (the first two are very similar), from what I have seen:

1) Speaker protection