1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Considering a Squier. Need input.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Spent, Jul 8, 2014.

1. Yea

77 vote(s)
    90.6%
  2. Nay

8 vote(s)
    9.4%
  1. Spent

Spent

May 15, 2011
    Upstate NY
    My current inventory of basses stands at 14. I mostly play Spectors, but recently treated myself to a Fender Aerodyne. I really didn't want to like it as much as I do (long story) but it is an amazing instrument and I've been playing it exclusively for a few months at 3-4 gigs per month. As anyone with severe gas knows, it's insatiable and often illogical, and I have decided I need a white bass. For the past few weeks I've had my sights on a Fender Standard P bass, white with a maple fb. So, I'm being responsible, saving gig money and I'm one gig away from buying one. I recently ran across a Squier '70 Modifed Jazz and I'm intrigued. There are no decent music stores near me, so I'll be buying it online; I like Sweetwater. I'll gladly send it back if I don't like it and have no problem paying a restocking fee, if need be, to insure that my new bass is to my liking. I know the P and Jazz are different intruments, I have an American Deluxe Jazz, and like it a lot. This will be a working bass, albeit only on a limited basis. So how does the quality of a Squier compare to a mim bass? Do weekend warriors, like me, feel confident gigging with one? I would appreciate any advice anyone has to offer.

2. Malak the Mad

Malak the Mad Over the River and through the Looking Glass Supporting Member

I voted "Yea". However, I often recommend the Classic Vibe Jazz. I had one a little ways back that was absolutely killer…and it comes in white! ;) But I must say, the neck on the VM '70s Jazz is an intriguing number.