1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cop Stop....Yet Again....

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by bryan gibson, Aug 19, 2012.

1. I've been gigging off and on for over 20 years now and just have to ask if this happens to everybody else or only me....

While on the way home from last night's gig I was (yet again...) pulled over by the trusty Illinois State Police. No I wasn't drunk, no I wasn't speeding, no I wasn't doing anything stupid. I was told I DID however have a non-functioning license-plate light. Huh? I can understand them looking for drunks etc, but twenty minutes alongside the highway at 2:30 am? Gimme a break. I had no booze on my breath, I was clearly driving in a straight line, and we do have lots of local traffic at this time of night due to some 24 hour warehouses, etc.

Last month I was pulled over for no apparent reason-by a cop that was LEANING ON THE HOOD OF MY TRUCK 5 minutes before outside the venue and we even had a polite conversation about said drunks inside the building. The month before that, my "front wheel touched the centerline" and I was pulled over by the ISP dude that lives in the same small town (150 pop) that I do.

Long story short, I have an immaculately clean CDL, with exactly ZERO tickets and/or accidents in the last 15 years, and no legal issues of any sort EVER. So I've just gotta rant a bit and ask if anyone else has repeated cop delays on the after-gig commute? On a similar topic, do you think it's getting worse recently or just my normal crap-luck?

2. GoesThump

GoesThump

Jul 13, 2007
    I've done a lot of late nights & used to get pulled over a lot back in the day. Cut my hair & 94 & have been stopped exactly twice since, and both times I was definitely speeding.