1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Could someone please explain this? $770 practice amp!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by t77mackie, Jun 13, 2012.

1. t77mackie

t77mackie

Jun 13, 2012
    Wormtown, MA
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/Markbass-Micromark-50W-1x6-Bass-Combo-Amp-105472559-i1395933.gc

Markbass 50 watt combo bass amp with one 6" speaker that lists for $770?!?! Granted is sells for $480 but still!!??

Who is going to buy this? Are there really that many super-rich people who want God's own practice amp?

Another thing I noticed about Markbass is on their web page the link for endorsers is before the link for products?

I'm new to this company and don't know anything about them so what's the dealio??

:meh:

2. Baird6869

Baird6869 RIP Gord Downey. A True Canadian Icon.

I wondered the same thing. It is perfect for a small practice amp and looks really cool.

I have played one and it is much better than I could have imagined. Good tone and surprisingly loud.

If it was $199 I would own one.

3. ridiculous. Can buy a decent used half stack for that much

4. TinIndian

TinIndian

Jan 25, 2011
    Micco Florida
    Ah, No.

5. bassman64

bassman64

Jan 19, 2001
    NY
  6. bassman64

bassman64

Jan 19, 2001
    NY
    I am glad some stuff is getting smaller and get good sound but this is starting to go to far.

to me, with out any practical application.........I would say these are a WOW factor and impulse buys more than some thing usefull in a band setting.

7. jordak

jordak

Apr 7, 2011
    Queens, NY
    As far as practice amps go, I'd rather have 15 watts out of an 8" speaker than 50 watts from 6". Typical 15 watt jobs go for $99. For a 50 watt combo, you could easily get one with a 12" speaker for under $300.

This amp seems unreasonably priced and ill conceived.

8. throbgod13

throbgod13

Mar 26, 2005
    Texas