could you do this?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by cods, Aug 16, 2004.

1. cods

Sep 16, 2003
    i searched, but this is too broad of a thing to find any relevant results.

lets say you have a multi-effects unit that you like the sound of...

could you go...

effects unit ----> power amp ----> cab

therefore using the effects unit as the head.

would this work?

would it sound like crap(i know it depends on the unit, but...ya know what i'm saying)?
  2. TheChariot

Jul 6, 2004
    Boston, MA
    Good question... I've got a BP50, but I've never tried nothing like that before. My guess is that it would sound subpar, if, in fact, it did work at all.
  3. It does, I used a liquid metal 150 dollar distortion pedal with a bunch of neat settings through a yorkville 150w power amp and it brought out all the wattage and sounded wicked.
  4. BruceWane

Oct 31, 2002
    Houston, TX
    As far as whether or not it will basically work, it depends on whether or not the output of the effects unit is high enough to properly drive the power amp. Some have a hot enough output, some do not.

It also depends on the sensitivity of the particular power amp you're using. To be driven to full power, some need a hotter signal than others.

So you have to compare the output voltage of the effects unit to the input sensitivity of the power amp. The effects unit output should be at least equal to, preferably greater than, the power amp input sensitivity.

If that's OK, then it's strictly a matter of the sound quality of the unit. Generally speaking, it's not going to be anywhere near as good as a quality pre-amp, but it still might be somewhat OK. You just have to try it and see......
  5. TheChariot

Jul 6, 2004
    Boston, MA
    I'm gonna try it...