Critique my playing, please

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Clyde75, Nov 30, 2021.

1. Clyde75

Clyde75

Jul 24, 2020
    Atlanta, GA
    Hey all, I'm fairly new to bass and new to this site. I've been playing guitar for quite a while though. Before I go to far down the road with bass, I'd like to make sure I have decent technique before I develop any bad habits that are hard to break.

Below is a video of me playing workout 1 from Jon Liebman's Bass Aerobics book. I would really appreciate any feedback about my technique, or really anything about my playing. I feel like my plucking hand still hasn't caught up to my fretting hand in ability so I know I've got some coordination issues to work out. I assume that'll get better as I play more but maybe better technique would help.

Thank you!

31HZ, jallenbass, MZo and 6 others like this.
  2. Standalone

Standalone

Jan 17, 2005
    New Haven
    Yes your fretting hand technique is better and more polished than your RH.

I’m a much looser player than that. I never once worked up an exercise like that to that level of precision. I’ve done them, but never with an aim to perfect them.

What’s missing is groove. I wouldn’t counsel you to be every bit as loose as I am, but for me, music is in the strings, not the frets. You’re sort of plucking the strings evenly with your fingernails. They sometimes miss.

If you pronate your wrist a bit so that your index finger and middle use more of the side of the finger - the inner side - you’ll have a fatter bit of flesh to contact the string and give it a good pluck.

This will allow you to access fat harmonic content and depth in the sound of the string. Real tone.

And loosening up — while also strengthening that RH — will allow you to bring more muting and articulation.

I’m off the left hand side of the screen here but you can hear how I dig in to the string and use muting to add rhythmic content — to groove and lock with the drums.