Decent Amp Brands?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by HolyKiwi, Sep 17, 2006.

1. HolyKiwi

HolyKiwi

Sep 17, 2006
    Hey, I'm new to bass but have been playing guitar a few years. Decided to start playing bass w/ a band because our other guitarist is better at lead, so I figure I'd be the bass man.

just recently picked up a warwick corvette and a fender rumble amp, but I'm looking to upgrade (the amp) within the next 6 months or so.

What's the ultimate bass amp brand? The best quality? Best priced? etc.

Looking for maybe... 200 - 300 watt cabinets? How loud does a bass setup need to be vs. the guitar and drums? I've heard 100 to play with drums, and 4x as much as your guitar player is at.

looking to spend maybe 1Kish max for the setup.

At most we would be playing infront of 50-75 people at a time, so I mean.. i don't need anything that would fill a stadium.

2. ihixulu

ihixulu Supporting Member

Mar 31, 2000
    South Shore MA
    There is no decent amp brand. Any amp that you buy will be liked by some and hated by some. Therefore, accept the fact now that whatever you buy will sooner or later be branded "[email protected]" by someone on this board, or elsewhere.

That said, for 1K (are you talking head and cab?) you can get a really nice rig, one that I will not call [email protected], I promise. Some well known and trusted brands are Ampeg, Eden, SWR, GK, Peavey, Fender...

Ultimately it depends on what kind of sound you would like to project. While most modern amps are pretty versatile, each brand does tend to have a characteristic tone that may or may not work for YOU.

What kind of music are you playing?

Oh, yeah, before I forget, definitely go with used gear. Way more Bang for the $$.

3. BadB

BadB

May 25, 2005
    USA
    Mesa/Boogie. The only brand you'll ever need. JMOOTF.

4. ihixulu

Mar 31, 2000
    South Shore MA
  5. HolyKiwi

HolyKiwi

Sep 17, 2006