digital workstations and software

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by evilbob101, Mar 9, 2005.

1. I have a few questions for you gear gods out there. First, I'm relatively new to the whole recording situation. I want to start recording on my home pc. I think that the Tascam DP-01fx portastudio is what I'm looking for in a digital workstation with the funds I have available (between 500-700 dollars). Has anyone used this particular workstation? I also plan on getting some sort of keyboard, but I'm not sure what exactly which to get. I want one that has a good key range, preferably 61 keys or so, and will work with the workstation and the software. Oh, forgot to mention, I'm currently using Fruity Loops Studio 5.

I guess I'm really confused about how this will all be compatible. I'm not sure if i've overlooked something and I'm going to have trouble hooking everything together. My computer only has USB slots at the moment, but, upgrading my soundcard wouldn't be difficult.

I really want to get as much of this right the first time as I can, so, if you guys need to know anything more, let me know. I'm ready to put some music into the world! :hyper: :help:
  2. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    Here's my opinion as a fairly savy home recorder and very savy computer geek.

USB does not have the bandwidth to do recording. You will get bad latency and there is nothing you can do about it. It doesn't matter how fast you PC is, the USB spec is fixed to 12mb/s and you will eat that real fast recording.

Go internal, or go Firewire.

Software: Fruity Loops isn't recording software. I don't care what the dude at Guitar Center told you, Loops are NOT music. Loops are what people without musical talent use to make music. Real musicians use real software to record (and admitedly sometimes use loops as tools within their work).