Do Flats Sag/Lower After They Break In?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Bassdoggydogg, Apr 20, 2024.

1. Bassdoggydogg

Bassdoggydogg

Jan 29, 2021
    I got a bass tuned down to C# with some Steve Harris Sig. Rotos, and this is my first time using flats. The bass was playing pretty good after some saddle adjustments. Now it's about two months later and I'm getting some fret buzz towards the headstock on the middle strings. I thought I read somewhere that flats sort of sag/lower when they break in... or did my neck just move?

Sam Dingle likes this.
  2. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK
    Maybe you didn't set the witness points and they have set themselves naturally over time?

One Way, Dominic D and Dr. Love like this.
  3. Bassdoggydogg

Bassdoggydogg

Jan 29, 2021
    I remember pushing down fairly good at the bridge, but my saddles don't go back far enough to get proper intonation on all the strings. Intonation doesn't usually affect action though does it?

4. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK
    No, but action affects intonation and the amount of saddle compensation required.

mcnach likes this.
  5. JKos

JKos

Oct 26, 2010
    Surprise, AZ
    Did you check/set the relief when you put the strings on? Has it changed?

6. Turnaround

Turnaround Commercial User

May 6, 2004
    Toronto Canada
    Independent Instrument Technician - Retired
    Nope they don't sag. It's likely your neck is adjusting to increases in relative humidity and consequently needs an adjustment.

One Way, CTW68, Engle and 5 others like this.
  7. jeff62

jeff62 Supporting Member

Oct 24, 2005
    Central FL
    If you tuned down with this set of strings and the bass was in a std tune before, then I would suspect that the truss rod has slowly reduced the relief in the neck due to the lesser tension from the strings. Or these strings have less tension than the set prior to this. Or weather change.