1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Do I need a D.I. box with my amp.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jmone, Jan 15, 2012.

1. jmone

jmone Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2010
    Alright so I want to record my bass and I am a totally noobie when it comes to this. I've never done it and I'm not entirely sure where to start. All I want is to get my bass onto my computer to record with while keeping my amp settings/pedals.

So this is my amp head [​IMG]

It says "D.I." and then under it, it says "POST EQ". Now can I rightfully assume this will do exactly what I want?

If so how do I get that onto my computer. What sort of cable(s) will I need to get this to work the way I want.

Sorry if this is a stupid question. I really don't know what to do here. This is my first time even trying this.

2. maxsample

maxsample

Feb 17, 2011
    Vancouver BC
    you don't need a separate di box with that amp. all you need to do is plug an xlr cable into the di jack, and plug the other end into whatever audio interface you have running with your computer. the POST EQ means that the signal being sent out the di will be affected by whatever your EQ setting are on the amp, as opposed to PRE EQ which would just send the bass signal as is, no EQ.

3. jmone

jmone Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2010
    Cool, exactly what I was assuming. Now the problem is... would something like this work?

4. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    That's got the wrong gender of XLR plug; also it was wired to bridge a stereo output into a mono input. You need one that keeps the + and - wires separate.

5. jmone

jmone Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2010