Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Do you steal music???

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Mar 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    I just picked up a book called "The Future of Music". Only read the first 15 or so pages but it got me really thinking. It's pretty much saying that in a couple of years selling music is going to be like trying to sell snow at the north pole, and the only way musicians are going to be able to profit from music will be through live performances (david bowie actually said that). It also says that there will be people who will fight it tooth and nail, and loose, and those that will go with the flow, survive, and perhaps come up with some great new ideas.

I work in a school so I started asking my classes how many kids have bought a cd in the last year. Out of about 150 kids, 4 said they did. I asked how many ever bought a song off of itunes. They roll their eyes and look at one another. The attitude is generally that itunes is for the ignorant and the old. people who don't realize that music is free. they also, in 100% seriousness don't consider it stealing music. they believe they're sharing. jaywalking is more out of line than downloading music.