1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Drum machine???

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by jaxxfun13, Apr 7, 2009.

1. jaxxfun13

jaxxfun13

Mar 1, 2009
    I'm a new student to bass, my teacher said its a good idea to get a drum machine for practice and rythm....can anyone suggest a decent drum machine that is not too expensive. should i still get a metronome or am i fine with the drum machine??
    thanks in advance
    Jack
    :bassist:

2. Alesis AR-16
    < $100, good tones, & some room to program beats.

3. Captain_Arrrg

Captain_Arrrg

Jan 23, 2008
    Mountains of Colorado
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses
    I think you mean the SR-16 and they run about $160. As for the sounds, they're the same ones from when it debuted in 1990- Dated to say the least.

I picked up the Zoom MRT3B for $99.95. Since it's newer, the samples are clean and don't have cheesy reverb. Lots of kits and pre-loaded beats, easy to program at a great price.

No, you don't still need a metronome. You can program clicks.

4. froglips

froglips

Feb 9, 2009
    Arizona
    If you get a drum machine you will not need a metronome.

I use the BOSS DDR-880 drum machine. It is a little expensive, but it is probably the best one available out there.

This thing has 500 preset drum patterns you can jam to, or you can make up your own and save them. It has too many drum kits to even try to list.

It also has bass patterns/riffs that play with the drum preset patterns, and you can also make up your own and save them as well. it also has many bass voices to choose from.

You can also plug your guitar or bass into it and use the BOSS ME-6 effects in it the drum machine for them, and play along with the drums and bass already in the machine.