Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

EA iamp 800 users...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jobu3, Jan 24, 2004.

1. jobu3

jobu3 Artist formerly known as Big Joe

Feb 17, 2002
    Mountain Top, PA
    Just ordered one through bassnw... should be here hopefully Friday. (Can't wait!) Anyway, I was wondering if you guys leave a space as recommended? I would like to get just a 2-space rack bag (if only Odyssey made such a beast) if it would not be a major thermal issue. If it is, I will get an Odyssey 3-spacer.

Thoughts, comments, advice?
    :confused: :D
    :bassist:

2. gfab333

gfab333

Mar 22, 2000
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    I've been running an 800 since early spring 2003. They do not run hot at all. I carried my amp around without a rack for about a month and noted that it barely gets even slightly warm. I play only on weekends, so I checked with another friend who plays maybe 6 nights a week with his 800, and he confirmed that his runs cool too. Thus, I felt pretty comfortable with putting it into a light weight 2 space X rack, since I'm going for a light weight rig (what's the use in buying a light weight head if you're going to put it into a heavy rack?). Ofcourse, the exception would be if you go on the road, then you'll want to put it into a big heavy shock-proof rack.

One other thing to note is that many of the shallow racks which would fit this head don't have rear mounting ears. A number of TBers suggested that you install a block(s) of packing foam at the rear between the head and the rack shell to lessen the stress on the front ears. I've done this and it works very well! make sure that you don't block any vents.

3. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY