1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Eastwood Classic

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by xbvh93, Aug 7, 2012.

1. xbvh93

xbvh93

Aug 7, 2012
    Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to the world of basses, though I've had an old Fender copy for a couple of years which I've played a little. I'm really keen to buy myself a bass (my one is on loan from a friend), and I'm a big fan of the semi-hollowbody variety. Unfortunately it seems that semi-hollowbody and cheap rarely are said in the same sentence. However, I came across Eastwood guitars, and am interested in their Classic 4 model:

http://www.eastwoodguitars.com/

I was just wondering whether anybody had any experience with them, whether this is a reputable brand, any better alternatives etc etc. Please forgive my current ignorance, and thanks in advance for any help.

2. GM60466

GM60466

May 20, 2006
    Land of Lakland
    I had one of their Gibson LP Jr. models that I purchased used. It wasn't very good.

3. Ibanez artcore, Epiphone Jack Casady, and even the Gretsch Electromatic Series are a lot better than those. They're cool looking, but lack a lot in quality, and need extensive set up work when they're first purchased. I'd look elsewhere.

4. ubnomnar

ubnomnar Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2009
    So Cal
    Never owned an Eastwood so I had to take a peek. After all... a picture's worth a 1000 words.

[​IMG]

Very cool...

5. RootNoteRadical

RootNoteRadical

Dec 8, 2011
    I have a EASTWOOD classic 4 mind you its a left hand instrument and it is very nice. Great construction and finish, all that it needed was a PRO setup with my favorite brand of strings. It really is a great bass.

6. Jazzdogg

Jazzdogg Less barking, more wagging!

Jul 29, 2006
    San Diego, CA