1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ernie Ball Strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Lowner, Dec 9, 2006.

1. Lowner

Lowner

May 14, 2005
    Over Here
    I use D'addario strings and was thinking of switching to Ernie Ball strings for my 5 string because my friend uses them on his 5 string and says that he likes the 110 guage string for the B string because its not as floppy as other brands B strings. But I have never used Ernie Balls before only GHS and D'Addario before settling on D'addarios.

Do Ernie Balls last a long time or good dead soon after putting them on? Do they have a good sound? What is you over all opinion of Ernie Ball strings?

2. i like my slinkys, its basically all ive ever used, powers hybrids regulars the flats type 2, i like em.

3. DavePlaysBass

DavePlaysBass

Mar 31, 2004
    CO
    Slinkies come have one five string set I am aware of that are 45-65-80-100-130 just like D'Addario XL170-5.

They are similiar to DA XL nickels in feel, sound, and price.

Dave

4. hyp.spec

hyp.spec Supporting Member

May 14, 2006
    Warren, MI
    Slinky's are great.

I just tossed on a set of Regular Slinky's for my fiver, and I think they completely blow DR Hi-Beams and Lo-Riders away.

YMMV

5. I've just put a set of SLINKYS on my 5 string Squier P bass special.What a difference on the B!!!!!!!.Taut and clear as opposed to the Elites that were on before.

I like Slinkys,me,tho I've nearly always used Rotosound.(The Elites were on the Bass when I bought it,Slinkys were from Santa)

6. Barisaxman

Barisaxman Gold Supporting Member

Aug 17, 2005
    Omaha, NE