Ever Burn yourself out on a Bassist?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Matt Till, Mar 20, 2005.

1. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I'm all Claypooled out... I always thought I'd be on some kind of mission to own everything Claypool. It seems more and more I'm in no hurry. And from hearing samples of Adrian Belew's new album, I'm almost discouraged from buying it from how... Claypool the Claypool tracks are. I don't know, but this is helping in a way. MY playing was becoming ultra Claypool, original riffs I was writing were sounding like forgotten Claypool riffs. Maybe that's one of the reasons... or maybe it's because I've been listening to Primus since 1999 quite religiously. A lot of his overplaying on CCBBB and Flying Frog Brigade pisses me off. I mean, on FFB, he way way way dominates the mix/playing. And I most certainly need a break from his "singing." That is what I dig about Belew's project... I dig his voice leaps and bounds over Claypools.

I dunno, i could rant a bit more, but I won't. Anyone else ever kinda overplay a hero, and grow to... dislike their faults I guess.
  2. Lorenzini

Dec 31, 2004
    Los Angeles
    This happened to me with rock music in general... If I never heard RHCP again I'd be a happy man.

plz don't flame me I have a brick wall :bag:
  3. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001

Damn, I was going to flame you like a drag queen on a makeover show, but that brick wall stopped me cold. ;)

Anyway, Matt. it's actually a really cool album otherwise.

I get burned out on bass centered stuff, but never really a bassist in particular. At the end of the day I need more than just good bass/
  4. Marlat

Sep 17, 2002
    London UK