1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Feeling Discouraged by a competent teacher

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by LordPanze, Mar 30, 2016.

Tags:
  1. So i'm still learning the basics of playing my bass guitar. My current teacher is very talented and knows his stuff, but I cant comprehend much of what he tells me. As he sits across from me, explaining scales and showing me them, I can't put what he says onto my own bass. Where as my looking up tabs for songs is very easy for me to understand. Looking at the frets by numbers rather than fingers/finger placement as numbers is working for me more. My point is, every lessons leaves me feeling discouraged and inadequate despite my being fairly decent at what I practice at home. Are there any good bits of advice I should follow? I wan't to enjoy learning, not dread it.

2. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism

You need to explain your frustrations to your teacher, it sounds like they are going too fast or failing to explain everything. On the other hand, are you actually working on the lessons between lessons? One of the biggest issues is that students think the learning happens at lessons, it doesn't. The learning happens between lessons when you apply the things you have learned to what you are doing. Lessons are for you to be exposed to new ideas and get feedback on the ideas you have been working on.