Fender Jazz Bass (Mexico) or Carvin B4?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Alb, Jun 7, 2005.

1. Alb

Jun 6, 2005
    Hi folks!

I'm new to bass. So new in fact that I don't have one yet. I've played guitar for 32 years and also play banjo and mandolin.

My son and I want to start a recording project and need a bass. The only two in our price rance that we know of are the two I've listed in the title.

Could I get some feedback on some other possibilities you may know of or even your take on the ones I've listed? Our price range is $300 to $500.

Thanks very much!!!

2. PhilMan99

Jul 18, 2003
    US, Maryland
    While I'm thinking seriously of getting a Carvin myself (upgrade from my Ibanez) and don't personally have a Fender any more (since the 70s), the Fender Precision is generally a favorite among recording engineers. While you actually mention the Jazz, you may consider the Precision. You can find a 4-string version in your price-range, though not American made (unless used).

Your experience suggests something of a "bluegrass" background. You'll probably want to start with the Fender sound (P or J). You may want "flat-wounds" too, to sound more like a big ol' upright. Virtually all basses these days come standard with round-wound strings, which give the bass a "piano-like" sound.

To me, TI Jazz Flats sound most like acoustic, but they don't have as much old-time 1960s "thump" as other flats (such as La Bella Deep Talkin').
  3. Snarf

Jan 23, 2005
    New York, NY
    I have a Fender precision and a Fender jazz, both MIM, and a Carvin B4. The Carvin, to me, is like a more modern-sounding jazz bass. Plus, it's a little bit out of your price range. I'd second the Fender precision.
  4. Nedmundo

Nedmundo Supporting Member

Jan 7, 2005