Fender P Bass Fret Buzz

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by gandhirrea, May 16, 2005.

1. Just ordered my 1st bass off of musiciansfriend: Fender P Bass (mexican). After playing a bit (NOTE: i have no previous knowledge of technique or bass lessons, this could be a contributing factor) I have noticed a few frets buzz signifigantly. The buzzing begins lightly at fret 9 on the G string and very gradually, it increases up the frets until fret 15. At this point the buzzing has become quite loud and continues to get louder on the 16th fret. The noise of the note is literally drown out (and cut off short) by the noise of the buzz at the 17th fret (this is the worst of all, i almost puked twice when i heard it and my ears began bleeding profusely). Then the buzzing goes down on the 18th fret, and there is no buzzing what-so-ever on the 19th and 20th frets. Anyone have an explination as to why and how to fix? Cheap bass? Warped neck? Fret problem? Technique problem?
  2. Atomic-Hedgehog

Dec 9, 2004
    i'd go with "Crappy Bass" as my first guess.... LOL

but anyway, it looks to me like you need to take it to a music shop and ask to get it "set up" i'm sure they'll know just what to do with it... :)
  3. gilbert46

Sep 21, 2004
    Sacramento, CA
    mexies arnt crappy, im sure it just needs a neck and bridge adjustment. search on how to adjust the truss rod, and raise the saddles alittle.
  4. I adjusted the height of the G string up slightly. This helped a bit, but there was still a buzz. I tightened the truss rod, and now I'm letting the guitar "rest" for a little while. Gonna try it out again in a bit. Thanks for the suggestions.